CHARMAINE

I love my body, make no mistake about that. I love my curves, my legs, breasts even my uneven hips.

I think I have the greatest body and don’t dream of ever having anyone else’s body. However, like most women I suffer from a level of dissatisfaction with my body. For me that would be my weight.

Other than that one thing, I wouldn’t change a thing.

I don’t want to lose weight to fit some warped image society has created of what is considered beautiful and acceptable. I would lose weight purely for health reasons…oh and for that bikini I’ve been dying to get into.

Thank God I have been able to move past people’s opinions on my looks and focus more on how I want to look and feel.

I was never really ridiculed for my body, more for my weight. I’ve been told I would look so much prettier if I lost weight, or men would find me more attractive if I lost weight. I actually believed all that nonsense! At some point, what made it worse was that I would continue to hate on my body when those people weren’t around.

The journey of self-acceptance and self-love has been long, painful and worth it.

The turning point came for me after watching some talk show where women in their 40’s and 50’s were being interviewed. They were discussing how unhappy they were with their bodies and lives, and the impact it had on their daughters. I just knew at that moment that I don’t want to be an unhappy 40 something, not able to enjoy my life and my family.

I then started thinking of all the things I wanted to do with my life; travelling, marriage, kids, career, spiritual growth and working with the less fortunate.

I made a conscious decision to deal with my body issues head on; I got emotionally and physically naked and took a long hard look at myself to figure out what was true and not about my body.

I focused on what I like and how I felt; I soon realised that I was blessed to have the body I do. The longer the list grew, the more I fell in love with my body.

I’m at the point where I don’t care what people think or say. The older I get, the more I recognize that happiness and health are what’s most important to me; because those two aspects will help me achieve my dreams.

Nothing else really matters..

Mosidi Charmaine Thokoane

CHAMA

Leave a Reply

