MEGAN

The media tells you that you have to weigh a certain number and look a certain way. This is a very narrow expectation, since only about 5% of woman look like that.

The majority don’t and so they walk around with very normal bodies when they think and are told by the media that they have abnormal bodies. About 8 years ago I thought that I had an abnormal body. In my mind I thought my boobs were too big, my lovehandles were too flabby, my face was too freckly and basically my body was not up to scratch.

I would always compare my body to others. And wishing I had what they had. But now that I’ve just turned 30 I have realised a few things. First of all, I love my body, it took a long time to say that and nothing much has changed, I still have boobs and love handles (they get bigger when I eat too much chocolate or cake) and freckles on my face, but I have learnt to embrace these things because they make me, me and I realised these things because I learnt to stop listening to the media and to listen to God alone.

There are also a few other (practical) things I have learnt along the way…
• I have learnt how to dress my body in a way that is classy and elegant and that suits me.
• I have learnt that if something doesn’t fit, it’s not my body’s fault but the manufacturer, and so I always try on clothes first before I buy, and if it doesn’t fit the way I like it then I move on.
• I have learnt which colours suit me the most and largely stick to them.
• I have learnt that there is not one female that is completely and totally happy with their body type and as you are comparing yourself to them they are doing just that with you as well.

I have also realised that God wants me to love myself, not hate and to love others and not to compare. So I try to genuinely give compliments and to take compliments from others.

I also try not to dwell on what I look like and focus on what God has in store for me today. Because if I take too much time worrying about myself and what I look like I miss out on what God is showing me and teaching me because quite frankly what my heart looks like is way more important than what my body looks like.

My body is a temporary vessel for my heart and soul that God is wanting to look more and more like Him. Don’t get me wrong, I do still have hang ups and I do worry a bit about how I look and I do make an effort to look nice BUT this is not my focus. My ultimate desire is that my heart looks good to Jesus, and to the ‘someone’ special I hope to meet one day.

As I finish, I leave 2 of the many verses that have helped me put things into perspective and to remember how much I am loved.

Zeph 3:17 – For the LORD your God is living among you. He is a mighty Saviour. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs. (NLT)

James 4:14 – How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog–it’s here a little
while, then it’s gone. (NLT)

Please remember that you are loved by a big, mighty, holy and kind God and He wants a relationship with you.

One day we will no longer be on this earth. So more important that what we look like is where do we stand with God?

Megan

megan

Leave a Reply

